Bob Dylan

2002-03-08 - 1:17 p.m.

I saw Bob Dylan this morning.

I see a lot of people in San Frisky. If you've never seen Jimi Hendrix, then you should try walking on Market Street sometime. I used to see Sammy Davis Jr. a lot, but I don't know where he went.

Bob was standing on the sidewalk, drinking coffee. He was next to his slightly worn pick-up with the big aluminum covered thingy on the back from which he sold sandwiches and juice and fruit and granola bars and bags of chips and coffee.

He was just kinda taking it all in. The early morning bustle, the clear blue sky, the cold, the wind, the rat-racers working their ways to the starting marks.

I'm not really a Dylan fan, so I didn't stop to talk. I gave him the nod, indicating I knew who he was. He replied in the same manner.

Then, as I continued the foot portion of my commute triathalon (Bus, Bart, Walk) I, too, took it all in.

To me, he was Bob Dylan.