Dim

2002-03-22 - 1:47 p.m.

It's been a fairly busy day. I don't have much to talk about with you people.

There is one thing I've been trying to figure out that perhaps you kids can relate to. In my work environment, there are people, and some of these people aren't terribly bright. The thing I've been wrestling with is whether these people are really that stupid, or are they smart enough to act stupid so they don't get delegated or assigned complex tasks. Is it honest-to-goodness incompetence or is it a ruse to distract attention from laziness?

Part of me really wants to believe that it's the latter. That part of me doesn't want to believe that there are people out there, people I talk to daily, people who make roughly the same amount of dough as me, that are stunningly stupid. I mean, this is an astonishing level of idiocy here. I'm not talking about pushing on a clearly marked "pull" door stupid, we all have our days. I'm talking about the kind of stupid that occurs when you tell a kid not to touch the oven, then he touches it and gets burned, then a week passes, and he touches it again with the same results, and so on, ad nauseum (latin for rinse and repeat till you puke).

That analogy doesn't even do justice to what I witness here sometimes. It boggles my mind. I'm talking way at the bottom of the bell curve on this one, where the line almost touches zero.

So that's it I guess. I'm going to go on wondering, hoping that it's just crafty laziness, because I am in moron denial.

If this comes off with me sounding like I'm an arrogant shit, well, you're right. I am an arrogant shit, thank you for noticing, and here's a tip: Don't touch the oven.