I'm Older Than I've Ever Been

2002-03-25 - 9:02 a.m.

Well, it's Monday again, and that's really all I have to show for myself.

I'm not a particularly active person anymore. I realize this when I actually do shit, and then am beat the whole next day. We have a veritable relay race of guests visiting Boihaus, which is great. You're welcome over any time you want. The drawback of the guest situation is that most people don't want to travel long distances to watch me go through a normal weekend routine (which looks rather like: wake up, pleasure self, couch, video game, couch, TV, stoned, TV, TV, shower, pleasure self, couch, drunk, go to bed).

But it's great to see these kids. Don't think for a second that it's not. I'm like a puppy when we have friends that I have missed come visit. I'm all humping their leg and peeing on their foot. Actually, I do that to everyone, so screw that simile.

The disconcerting thing about the visiting of missed friends goes along with something Stoo was saying. It does indeed make me feel old. Here's why: I found myself saying shit that here-to-fore I only heard old people saying. See, grown ups always say crap like, "The only time we see you is at weddings and funerals." Now I hear things like that coming out of my mouth and I'm freaking out.

I think that when you're younger, your world is fairly localized, but you're interacting with lots of people. Getting older has made my world exponentially larger, but I'm not as involved with so many other people.

I'm boring the shit out of myself with this, so I'll wrap it up. I don't mind getting older, I didn't mind being younger. While I go through this weird time between the two, I'm going to notice a lot of crazy "older" crap that I start doing. It's new to me, I'm going to tell you about it, and you're going to like it. See, when I was your age...