Deliver me from Anger

2002-04-03 - 2:49 p.m.

Hello, my name is Doug and I'm an angry person.

And I'm thinking, perhaps angry isn't where it's at. I'm tired of fighting with my girlfriend everyday over stuff that I don't even remember an hour later. I'm tired of being so pissed off at work, letting it eat away at me every time someone rubs me the wrong way. I can't help but think that my anger is taking years off the end of my life.

So I'm going to try something. I'm going to try to give up irritability like it was any other bad habit. Hopefully I'll have better luck with it than smoking.

There is a concern though. I wonder just how much of me (the personality) is anger? If I take that part of me away, will I still be me? I mean, my normal, relaxed state is right on the line between happy and pissed off. Will I be less charming without my instability?

I dunno. I guess I'll find out.

That's it for today. I'm really optimistic about this. At the very least, it sounds like fun to me. Maybe I'll be a better person for it. Maybe people will look up to me. Maybe I'll want to shave my head and wear orange robes. Who knows?

I already feel better, and that has me psyched. I'm going to take my anger, and keep it in my sock drawer (just in case I do need it again, I'll know where it is).

Wish me luck.

Smooches