Drew -4

2002-04-09 - 1:30 p.m.

4 more days and my baby brother will be in California for his first time. He's the only brother I have and since I'm older, he gets to be the baby brother. He always will be.

I remember watching the Muppets in the hospital when he was born. I remember when his head was as round as a basketball.

There was that time we went to Iowa by train, and he was very young, so Mom had him on this sort of leash contraption (this is before they had special leashes for kids, before play dates, before tickle-me-whatevers). We were walking through the station in a hurry and I was along side my Mom and she had the leash. At some point, she stopped, to make sure my baby bro was still with us, and there he was, still at the end of the leash.

That's not a very good story, is it?

The part that I left out was that he had apparently tripped or got sick of walking or decided it was naptime or whatever, and had been dragged by the leash for most of the length of the train station. He didn't seem to mind much, he was just covered in a fairly complete coat of train station filth, looking rather like they had recast Webster in the role of my cracker baby brother.

So I think this is going to be my theme this week. I'm going to anecdote the days away until he arrives.

I can't wait.