Drew -3

2002-04-10 - 1:52 p.m.

Three more days until Mr. Andrew Marc Bacon arrives.

Photographs are an important way to keep record of one's personal history. Folks have run into burning houses to rescue photo albums, and I don't think they're completely insane for doing it.

My family has great pictures of my brother and I growing up. We weren't the prettiest kids mind you, but there's some great photos none-the-less. Drew had some sort of mental handicap when he was rather young and always made the funniest faces when a picture was being taken (think Calvin and Hobbes).

There are two types of pictures that come to mind as being the definitive young Andrew pics. I say two types, because there are many pictures of basically the same situation. Both of the two types demonstrate his early eating disorders.

The first is the classic "guess who just had a chocolate cookie" picture. We have a ton of these shots of Drew showcasing his adorable little round head with Oreo covering most of the bottom half of it.

The second type of picture is my personal fave. These photos are the ones of Drew demonstrating his favorite place to take a nap. He's so peaceful looking, eyes closed, mouth slightly opened, his head in a plate of spaghetti. I can't tell what aspect of this phenomenon is odder: the fact that we have many pictures of him passing out in his food, or the fact that it's only spaghetti that he ever did it in.

That was all a long time ago. He's grown up a lot since then. When I take him out to eat here, I don't have to worry about cookie puss or the spaghetti narcolepsy, primarily because he only eats Nilla Wafers and brings a pillow to restaurants.

I love my brother.