Brother = Family

2002-04-25 - 11:29 a.m.

Update your diary she says.

Things have been insane folks, so much so that streaming together a line of words to do it all justice is a daunting task to say the least.

I'm sick, too, so daunting tasks can go to hell.

Monday was a couple of days ago, but it was a day worth noting. Brother Drew and I got to actually have some quality time, and I think we made a lot of headway in our relationship. See, I fear that Drew thinks I'm our parents' favorite or he thinks I'm better than him in some regard or some other odd notion that hinders our ability to hang out as the equals we are. Monday, over drinks, under sunshine, after Berkeley, and before home, we talked like brothers do. We learned stuff about each other, closed some distance, gained some ground. It was fantabulous, maybe my favorite day of his visit.

I don't have to understand him, he doesn't have to make sense. He's my brother, and always will be. That's how family works and I wouldn't have it any other way.