Another month passes

2002-12-04 - 1:09 p.m.

Holy dung sauce, I haven't written in much time. That means you're going to get a lot of poo-poo in a little space.

Florida was hot, humid and reminded my why I don't live there anymore. I had a good time aside from the weather, the dog that bit my face, the fleas that bit my legs, and the redneck that wanted to thump me for chatting up his lady (here's a bit of advice for people in the South, you're all morons, so to overcome your poor schools and hillbilly upbringing start believing in the opposite of everything you think. I lost you already, nevermind.)

Back from Florida and after sorting a couple-three things out, we are poised to move into our new digs on December 14th. This bigger house symbolizes a change of luck for everyone involved. The unemployed roomie will find work, the pathetically single roomie will find a girl to abuse, put up with, clean up after, or whatever it is he's looking for her to do to him, the lottery people will give me all the money they owe me, my penis will grow another inch, et cetera. If just one of those things happened I'd be tickled pink.

Thanksgiving in Tahoe again this year. Nice big cabin, nice big dinner. The weather was crystal clear, my level of intoxication was high. I got to play air hockey, make omelets, learn cribbage, soak in natural hot springs, and build fires. Building fires strikes me as the most basic of modern man's skills, and nothing gives me a chub quite the way constructing a cracklin' fire does. Maybe it's a boy thing, but I bet it's a very old, instinctive boy thing. I'd wager that if you ever had testicles, you've probably set something on fire.

Now I'm back at work, still at the law firm, still making less than I should, still finding FreeCell to be more intellectually stimulating than helping legal types find their heads (they never think to check up their asses). I guess the big thing that's new nowadays is wondering what the hell happened to 2002. Wasn't it just a little bit ago that people were prophesizing the end of existence come the millennium? I wonder what those people are doing now? You probably lose a lot of credibility after spouting misinformation like that. I do sort of envy the fanatical psychos who were counting on Armageddon at the turn of the century in one regard: Every day since January 1, 2000 (or 2001, depending who you ask) has been bonus time. I like anything bonus.

If I don't catch you again for another month, Happy Holidays folks.