Diary Soup

2003-01-27 - 10:16 a.m.

That was it, folks. All the hubbub is over, and the Tampa Bay Bucs won. Oakland lost the same way Philly lost, they just underestimated Tampa, and Tampa bitch-slapped them.

I can't imagine being so upset about a sporting event's outcome that flipping over cars and setting them on fire seemed like a good idea. Of course, I'm neither a gambling man, nor from Oakland. Methinks that just growing up in Oakland is judgment impairing. That's my prejudice I guess.

Speaking of prejudice, the brown coworker of mine that I have to cover for when he takes time off for being arrested (another DUI) has decided that I get "preferential treatment" at work because I'm white. Two things on that: First, I got where I am because I'm white, not because I show up regularly, work long hours when needed, can handle simple math, do things right the first time, multitask like nobody's business, etc, etc, right? Just checking. Second, since when does "preferential treatment" mean "picking up the slack when your lazy coworkers flake out while trying to keep on top of your normal workload which consists primarily of bitch-work?"

Man, if I had only known that being white was the all-access-pass to the good life, I wouldn't have wasted all this time busting my ass in a fucking mailroom while racist morons sat back and did nothing but pass judgment.

Speaking of passing judgment, did you see the new $4 million commercial from your friends in the government, blaming terrorism on your pot usage (even though none of the 10 most wanted terrorist organizations have anything to do with marijuana)? A woman in her office is visited by the ghost of a little girl who draws the correlation between weed, money and explosive Middle Eastern buses before disappearing. Shortly after, H&R Block's commercial showing dollars being sucked up by a wind leading straight to Washington D.C. aired. I was able to find a little humour in that.

In happier news, I gave in to the big screen TV urges. Having a big TV prompted me to finish putting together the surround sound stereo and some other finishing touches to the new(ish) living room. The aesthetics and acoustics are both fairly pleasant and the consensus among the roomies and friends is the living room kicks ass (or would if it had legs and feet and other living rooms had asses for it to kick).

Saturday, January 25th was when the nice folks at Best Buy delivered the Temple of American Consumerism as a function of Penis Envy (TV). That's also the day we (roomies and friends) celebrate Christmas. We find it suits us better to celebrate a month later to take advantage of sales, end of year bonuses, and everyone's usually back from their holiday travels by then. Fuck you, Julian Calendar, you don't own me!

So that's my post for today. It's all over the place, varied in its content as much as my beverage choices were while watching the Super Bowl (4 shots of tequila, some boxed wine, Guinness, beer, Smirnoff Ice - don't ask - whiskey and coke, et al.).

Why, yes, I'd love some Imodium AD with my coffee!