Non-sequitor-a-go-go

2003-02-04 - 1:49 p.m.

It's a beautiful day in the neighborhood. I don't have anything in particular (i.e. new) to complain about. Sure, today got off to a rocky start (SF's Municipal light rail transit was particularly irritating in the wee hours of commuterdom) but my spirits are high.

I bought some records this weekend past. We finally introduced the house record player to the house stereo and they seem to be getting on fabulously. I got a rather eclectic mix of stuff, including but not limited to: Sinatra, Henry Mancini, the Chieftains, Beethoven, Willie Nelson, Jethro Tull, and Woodie Guthrie. Not my usual fare, but what I like to hear on compact disc differs from what I like on vinyl.

I wonder if audiophiles go to jail if they're caught with pictures of walkmen on their computer?

Also purchased on my outing over the weekend (a rare occurrence indeed since leaving the house means breaking a date with a couch) was a sketchpad. It delighted me, and it was on sale, and the paper is of remarkable quality, and I thought it might inspire me to begin drawing again, and, and, and...

Back to that audiophile comment for a minute: Why is it a big deal that Pete Townsend has pictures on his computer when Michael Jackson has little boys in his bedroom? Everyone makes light of the Jackson-pedophilia thing, but there doesn't seem to be any sort of real investigation. Perhaps Michael is so far off the freaky-deaky map that it doesn't even register in our minds anymore.

In other news, if Phil Spector goes to jail for murder, when O.J. got acquitted, I'm going to shit a brick. Phil's (I'm on a first name basis with everyone) contribution to the greater good is exponentially more than O.J.'s. Phil produced albums by the Beatles, Ramones, Tina Turner, et al. He revolutionized music recording as we know it, he invented the "wall of sound." O.J. played football, did a couple Naked Gun movies, and ran through airports for United commercials.

Hell, Phil Spector has earned himself a couple of free murders in my book. Maybe he could start with O.J..