Toon in

2003-05-07 - 10:03 a.m.

I'm trying something new out. Down at the bottom of my entries now appears a political cartoon a la Daryl Cagle. He has an editorial cartoonist index site that's pretty rad, if you're into that sort of thing. The 'toon should automatically update itself whenever Daryl feels it's time for updating, which is nice for me since, in a way, I'm not solely responsible for new material on my own diary anymore (for those just tuning in, I've elevated laziness to a rather admirable art form).

Is it worth noting that my views may not always coincide with the views expressed in said cartoon? No, and go screw yourself. If you have to be told that different folks see things differently, then you probably shouldn't be reading my diary, or editorial cartoons for that matter. You also shouldn't be engaging in any of the following activities: voting, speaking, reproduction, holding a political office, visiting a political office, making monetary contributions to a political office, activism, declaring war, and operating heavy machinery.

If you haven't looked down at the cartoon yet, let me tell you what the basic idea behind the series is. Daryl Cagle illustrates facts, or more accurately, statistics (clarified because statistics are a pliable summary of facts based on a representative source). They're funny in a somewhat unnerving way, but I feel that more can come from looking in the mirror than just vanity. Enjoy!